Post no. 6: This one’s about Rodeo Drive, baby!

Yeehaw!

Yeehaw!

I still remember my first visit to Rodeo Drive. It was back in 1997; with my mum – and a tour bus full of other families and newly-weds that we were travelling with for the next fortnight. We were on a 14-day guided tour of the West Coast (an awesome Christmas present from my eldest brother), which meant that we were EVERYWHERE together. There must have been like 20 – 25 of us, who flew together, adhered to a hectic schedule together, ate every meal together, trailing behind the waving flag as if the Pied Piper was leading the way – you get the drift. It didn’t help that my mum and I share a 4 decade age gap, and I was a passive aggressive teenager who was too young/cool (at least in my head) to enjoy the company of the other adults, underaged to get stoned drunk, and too old to be wailing like an ambulance so that I could be carried around. Not that any of that ever stopped me from having a great time. I still managed to have a great time, but that experience 16 years ago was just relived in a completely different way today.

For starters, we drove to Rodeo Drive today. I was behind the wheel, and I felt so excited and free while we were zipping down the freeway. Driving here makes me feel like a kid because it’s on the “other” side of the road, on the “other” side of the car compared to back home. But I love it! I love driving, so it really doesn’t matter which side it is – I’m just going for it! First stop: Sprinkles Cupcakes in Beverly Hills.

Who said only Singaporeans love to queue?

Who said only Singaporeans love to queue?

The line for the shop with the white facade was longer – it’s for the new thing: ice cream. But we weren’t in the mood for cold cream. We wanted the baked stuff that we could sink our teeth into (literally) and not feel lightning shot through our gums (think: corny toothpaste TVCs that feature random “dentists” (ie. C grade actors/models in lab coats) hovering outside shopping malls, asking “random passers-by” if they experience the effects of sensitive teeth).

The only thing that preserves my good behaviour; had it not been for this glass screen, I'd have been like that girl in Charlie and the Chocolate factory - face down all over those iced morsels of heaven

The only thing that preserves my good behaviour; had it not been for this glass screen, I’d have been like that girl in Charlie and the Chocolate factory – face down all over those iced morsels of heaven

Clockwise: Cuocake monster (me), red velvet, salted caramel x 2, dark chocolate

Clockwise: Cuocake monster (me), red velvet, salted caramel x 2, dark chocolate

Foreground: red velvet cupcake. Background: maserati. Both are a sight for sore eyes. To make it perfect, all I need are the keys to the car. *drool*

Foreground: red velvet cupcake. Background: maserati. Both are a sight for sore eyes. To make it perfect, all I need are the keys to the car. *drool*

Sprinkles 24 hour cupcake ATM: Money can't buy you happiness, so why not withdraw a cupcake instead? :)

Sprinkles 24 hour cupcake ATM: Money can’t buy you happiness, so why not withdraw a cupcake instead? 🙂

So after our sugar cravings were satisfied, it was off to Rodeo Drive proper. It’s changed a lot since I was there 16 years ago, and definitely looks so different from my first memory of it, from my all-time favourite movie, “Pretty Woman” (cue the theme song.. *derng-derng-derng-derng-derng-derng-derng*). Remember this scene?

A daily exercise routine for the well-heeled, but a dream for many girls who have to work our asses off for the moolah

A daily exercise routine for the well-heeled, but a dream for many girls who have to work our asses off for the moolah

Anyhoos, it all looks super modern, and no longer 80s.

Why, hello Harry. An oldy, but a goody.

Why, hello Harry. An oldy, but a goody.

Ro-Dior Drive, baby!

Ro-Dior Drive, baby!

The Beverley Wilshire - where Richard Gere's character had that dirty weekend in Pretty Woman. Aww.. I've always found it so romantic! Like a modern day Cinderella story - except that she was cleaning other types of chimneys.

The Beverley Wilshire – where Richard Gere’s character had that dirty weekend in Pretty Woman. Aww.. I’ve always found it so romantic! Like a modern day Cinderella story – except that she was cleaning other types of chimneys.

One of these kids is doing his own thing...

One of these kids is doing his own thing…

Overhead one tourist asking someone: Why is everyone taking picture of this sign? Response: Uh.. because it's kinda famous Tourist 1: Ohh... Me: ???

Overheard one tourist asking someone: Why is everyone taking picture of this sign?
Response: Uh.. because it’s kinda famous
Tourist 1: Ohh…
Me: ???

Alas, I didn’t do the Pretty Woman walk with all the shopping bags. But Mr G. promised me that one day we’d return and shoot a spoof of it. Ideas are most welcome. 🙂

xxx,

ms wee

“In Beverly Hills… they don’t throw their garbage away. They make it into television shows.” – Woody Allen

Leave a Reply

