Post no. 15: This one’s about my first LA County Fair

Everyone knows what to expect from a County Fair right? Ferris wheel, carousel, cotton candy, pop corn, petting zoo, craft contests, and generally just cute things like that. Well take all that, pump it with steroids – and I reeeaally mean PUMP, and you get the LA County Fair!

LA County Fair

pinkboots

Umm.. yeah, that’s how I usually stand when I need to hold in my pee

For some reason, I don't think I can sit on Mr Sweethearts shoulders and pull off the same look. :/

For some reason, I don’t think I can sit on Mr Sweetheart’s shoulders and pull off the same look. :/

winfrogs

I guess this is where Kermit’s not-as-famous friends hang out

tango

OOh, the screams that came from this ride were sensational!

winbigprzes

Toys galore! But in my mind, “Eeks! Dust traps!” =P

And then, there was the FOOD. It was like the CAPITAL OF SIN. Everything was greasy, creamy, and huge. I felt my cholesterol level shoot through the roof just looking at the stuff! =)

Those poor turkeys certainly did not have a walk in the park

Those poor turkeys certainly did not have a walk in the park

These would-be pulled pork sandwich filling are still keeping it together - for now.

These guys are still keeping it together – for now.

Sausages vs Man

Sausages vs Man

Man vs Potatoes

Man vs Potatoes

Just desserts

Just desserts

Omg. Check out this brick of curly fries!

Omg. Check out this brick of curly fries. I’d love to throw it at someone just for fun šŸ˜‰

Monster ice cream

That just looks so sick, but so good..

Hello, fried oreos, fried Twinkies and fried everything under the sun!

Hello, fried Oreos, fried Twinkies and fried everything under the sun!

ZOMG...

ZOMG… seriously

One of my life’s deepest regrets may be the fact that I didn’t try the Krispy Kreme burger – but I’m certain that’s why I lived to tell this tale. Trust me, it took the willpower of a million whales to restrain myself. Gahhhh!!!

Double beef patties and double cheese sandwiched between a pair of original glazed KKs. Omg, seriously?! I can't believe I walked away...

Double beef patties and double cheese sandwiched between a pair of original glazed KKs. *cue Angel choir singing

But what I did enjoy, was this 1/2 pound of pork chop on a stick. Sure, amongst all those other crazy stuff on the menu it seemed mild. But boy, was that pork chop tender!

Perfectly char-grilled - this was my kind of meat on a stick

Perfectly char-grilled – this was my kind of meat on a stick

Zucchini fries

Zucchini fries

And a nice spicy half pound sausage

And a nice spicy half pound sausage

Ok, lest you mistake the LA County Fair for a food festival, here are some other stuff that kept us entertained:

I really don't, uhm, pet my friends. At least not in a barn.

I really don’t, uhm, pet my friends. At least not in a barn.

Oh, you mean petting sheep?? But from what I see here, there ain't no sheep. Heck, I ain't gonna pet no strangers!

Oh, you mean petting sheep?? But from what I see here, there ain’t no sheep. Heck, I ain’t gonna pet no strangers!

But what I really want for Christmas is a donkey.. hee hawww! Tooo cute!

But what I really want for Christmas is a donkey.. hee hawww! Tooo cute!

It was like a buffet afternoon tea for these piglets. Mama didn't give a damn - she just slept through it all.

It was like a buffet afternoon tea for these piglets. Mama didn’t give a damn – she just slept through it all. But at least she was polite enough to keep her legs, well, kinda crossed

I certainly did not have the guts to check this out

I certainly did not have the guts to check this out

And then there was the section where people entered their creations for judging..

The edibles..

The edibles..

cake2

Is it me, or is the baby kinda creepy?

Country crafts..

Country crafts…

and weird pottery...

and weird pottery…

But this was my fav thing!

I'm totes with T-Rex

I’m totes with T-Rex

And there’s even a Tablescaping Competition. I never knew such there’s such a uhm, hobby?

The aim is to dress up a table and design a menu according to a theme. Judging is based onĀ Presentation, Originality/Creativity and Correctness.

Here’s this year’s Best of Show winner that scored full marks:

It scored 100 out of 100

Maybe this is something Agassi and friends would appreciate better than I do

And this one did not do so well..

It scored 40 out of 100

It scored 40 out of 100.
Correctness: 5 points out of 20
Comments:
Dessert Silverware is missing. Coffee spook preferred on saucer.
Cup handle should be at “3 or 4 o’clock”.

Geez.. tablescaping sure is serious business.

In between, some shopping had to be done. But I shan’t bore you with the knick knacks.

Last but not least, we chanced upon this duo on stilts. Super fun, super entertaining. If they could dance this way on stilts, I definitely wouldn’t want to be next to them on the dance floor. Top marks for entertainment!

Ooh, what longs legs they have

Somebody had zebra for lunch

Ā stilts2

So that was all we managed to see at this year’s LA County Fair. I’m pretty sure we didn’t cover the entire thing in all the 6 hours we spent (of which a good hour was definitely spent gawking at the food). I’d do it again next year for sure. And until then, I’ll be saving all my calories for the Krispy Kreme burger. =)

“Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.”

–Ā Dr. Seuss

One thought on “Post no. 15: This one’s about my first LA County Fair

Leave a Reply

